Multi-channel digital publishing options on Drupal - Le Monde

Le Monde

Depuis 70 ans, Le Monde apporte à la France les médias mondiaux. Adyax a aidé Le Monde à mettre les médias français à portée de tout le monde.

avantages
  • Efficacité business
  • Expérience client mémorable 
  • Partenaire digital dédié
  • Consolidation technique
  • Rendement amélioré
  • Publication segmentée maitrisée
     
         
01

Challenge

Un CMS pourrait-il publier simultanément et à grande échelle des site web et des centaines de milliers de magazines toutes les semaines ?

Le Monde, l'un des plus importants groupes média français, cherchait à numériser son processus d'édition : il fit appel à Adyax. La forte dette technique du système existant rendait difficile de lier à la fois l'édition physique et numérique de leurs publications. Dans plusieurs divisions du groupe média, la numérisation du contenu papier était impossible et la coopération croisée entre leurs équipes représentait un énorme défi.

Le Monde cherchait à regrouper tout le processus d'édition sur une seule plateforme, prioritairement digitale et à améliorer l'accès à leurs archives ; l’antique processus de stockage de données grevait l'accès, le tri et le stockage de ce contenu à forte valeur. Sans avoir pleinement pris la mesure des changements à opérer, le groupe était convaincu que son activité pouvait être simplifiée.

Telerama - Le Monde Drupal cross platform digital media
         
02

Solution

Adyax a proposé une solution de publication unique pour toutes les éditions, construite sur un CMS Drupal, pour disposer d'un gestionnaire de contenu web à la pointe et offrir une expérience web et mobile de premier ordre.

Le CMS Durpal serait utilisé pour la distribution média multi-plateforme pour l'ensemble de l’activité. Donner priorité au numérique, simplifierait considérablement l'intégralité des opérations d'édition et rassemblerait toutes les ressources dans un unique process. Nous avons également proposé de libérer leurs archives de leur outil d’un autre temps pour les stocker dans un format plus accessible, en utilisant Drupal. Toutes les données et le contenu papier et numérique seraient alors facilement indexés et consultables.

Mobile friendly multi channel digital media distribution options
multi media CMS combines digital with print media
La conception d'un nouveau CMS dédié et d'une plateforme d'édition a apporté une plus grande souplesse à l'ensemble des publications.
Mobile friendly multi channel digital media distribution options

Télérama, la publication dédiée aux médias, aux événements culturels et aux lieux, a pu être consolidée et produite dans ce nouvel environnement numérique, facilement. La solution a permis de conduire les stratégies de personnalisation : les utilisateurs peuvent créer leur agenda télé personnalisé, explorer la ville et de rester informés des événements qui les intéressent, en fonction de leurs préférences personnelles. Les informations traitant des ouvertures de nouveaux restaurants, des films et des émissions de télévision sont immédiatement poussées auprès d'un public ciblé grâce à un processus entièrement automatisé. Et, avec Drupal, tout le contenu créé à travers le site est alors été extrait, édité et optimisé pour être envoyé directement à l’impression.

Cette solution dédiée aux médias offre des avancés notables à une autre publication du Monde, Courrier International. Des articles du monde entier sont collectés, transmis à une équipe de journalistes et de rédacteurs qui en traduit le contenu pour le public français et le publie sans attendre via le CMS. Cette tâche auparavant fastidieuse devint plus fluide et permet de délivrer au lectorat français des nouvelles pertinentes du monde entier, plus rapidement.

Drupal based CMS for digital media
Le Monde drupal digital media CMS
Drupal digital media CMS homepage
Drupal digital media multi platform CMS
         
03

Bénéfices

Télérama, Courrier International et globalement toutes les publications du Monde sont valorisées par notre stratégie de transformation numérique.

Le contenu est mis à disposition des lecteurs sur différentes plateformes de manière beaucoup plus rationnelle et simple. Exploiter un même système permet aux différentes équipes du groupe d'accélérer les échange et de mieux collaborer entre les rédactions. La publication de contenu répété est désormais coordonnée et automatisée, guidée par des modèles pré-adaptés qui facilitent le transfert dans les différents magazines. Un contenu créé pour une édition peut être modifié et publié dans un autre format, dans la foulée. La réunion de tous ces atouts en une seule solution dédiée a fait de cette entreprise média un acteur majeur de l’information et du divertissement en France.

magazines imprimés grâce à Drupal toutes les semaines 200 000

Une des avancés majeures est corollaire à la numérisation du processus de distribution. En migrant vers une solution d'entreprise Drupal, tous les contenus sont indexés, consultables et facilement transférés sans demander d'efforts techniques : les données anciennes deviennent plus accessibles tout comme le seront les contenus futurs. Disposer des données sur une plateforme open source permet d’envisager une modification ultérieure simplifiée de celles-ci ou du CMS, sans impact budgétaire significatif. Le Monde et ses sites ont vécu une révolution en abandonnant un modèle de stockage de données archaïque et un système de publication non numérique.

Adyax a aidé ce groupe média à devenir un des leaders du marché. Ses deux sites Web et ses six magazines touchent un public plus large avec beaucoup moins d'effort : une véritable transformation numérique.

  • ANNÉE 2014 / 2015
  • SECTEUR Mass Media
  • ENTREPRISE Le Monde

Multi-channel digital publishing options on Drupal - Le Monde

Le Monde

For 70 years Le Monde has been bringing the world’s media to France. Adyax helped Le Monde bring French media to the world.

benefits
  • Better Cost Control
  • Business Efficiency
  • Increased Conversion
  • Dedicated Digital Partner
  • Ease of Maintenance
  • Efficient Product Development
  • Faster Speed to Market
  • Improved Customer Experience
  • Improved Performance
  • Process Efficiency
  • Technical Consolidation
         
01

Challenge

Could a bi-media CMS really publish large-scale sites and print nearly a quarter million weekly magazines, all at the same time?

When one of France’s largest media conglomerates, Le Monde, was in need of digitizing their publishing process, they turned to Adyax. They were struggling to unite both the physical publishing and digital publishing arms of their companies, due to a dependency on legacy systems. Within several divisions of their media empire, digitization of their physical print materials was impossible and cross-cooperation between the teams was a challenge.

They were looking for a way to unify all of their publishing needs onto a single, digital-first platform and improve access to archived data. Their antiquated blackbox data storage process encumbered access, sorting and storage of valuable archival content. While they didn’t fully understand the complexity of the changes that needed to be made, they understood that the way they were doing business was much more difficult than necessary.

Telerama - Le Monde Drupal cross platform digital media
         
02

Solution

Adyax proposed a unified publishing CMS solution built on the Drupal framework, which would provide a best in class web content management system to support web and mobile experience.

By going completely digital-first, they were able to greatly simplify the entirety of their publishing process and combine resources previously divided into a single process and effort - creating a multi-platform media distribution system to support the entire business. We also proposed to free their archival data from its legacy prison, and to store it in a more accessible format using Drupal. All data and content, physical and digital, would be easily indexed and searchable.

Mobile friendly multi channel digital media distribution options
multi media CMS combines digital with print media
The approach to create a new media CMS and publishing platform opened the door to a greater range of flexibility on all media properties.
Mobile friendly multi channel digital media distribution options

Telerama, the media and entertainment arm of La Monde, which aggregates data relating to media, cultural events, and locations, was then easily consolidated and launched into the new digital distribution framework. This allowed for content about openings of new restaurants, movie and TV schedules to be published immediately for their target audience through a completely automated process. Personalization strategies, enabled by the solution, allow users to create custom made television schedules, explore the city, and stay aware of relevant events – all based on selected personal preferences. And all content created through the site could then be extracted from Drupal, edited and optimized for print, and sent straight to the publisher of print and related production.

The multi-platform media solution also allows for Courrier International, another division of Le Monde, to improve the efficiency of its global news publication by gathering articles from around the world and and sending them to a staff of journalists and writers who can then localize the content for the French audience and quickly publish to the CMS. What was previously a long and arduous task became more automated, assuring that their French readership got relevant news, faster, from around the globe.

Drupal based CMS for digital media
Le Monde drupal digital media CMS
Drupal digital media CMS homepage
Drupal digital media multi platform CMS
         
03

Benefits

Telerama and Courrier International, Le Monde’s overall media and publication business, benefits from our valuable digital transformation strategy.

Editors can bring content to their readers on various platforms in a much more streamlined, simplified way. Repeated content is now published with much more coordination and automation, populated into pre designed frames that are transferred to magazine publications with much less effort. And the unification of two divisions within the company, working with a single system, allows for a faster workflow and better internal cooperation. Content created for one publication can quickly be modified and published in another format without breaking stride. The combination of all material into a single, multi-platform media distribution CMS makes this company a much more relevant name in French news and entertainment.

Magazines printed weekly using Drupal 200,000

One of the greatest benefits, however, comes as a byproduct of digitizing the media distribution process. By moving to a Drupal enterprise solution, they are able to free their old data and assure that it, as well as all future content created, will be indexed, searchable, and easily transferred without requiring a great deal of technical effort. Having data on an open source platform allows for easy future amendment to the data or CMS without significant cost concerns. The change from the archaic data storage model and non-digital publication system revolutionized Le Monde and their subsidiary sites by improving the way they published across a variety of platforms. With unified resources, streamlined publication across a variety of platforms, greater automation, and improved data storage and access Adyax helped La Monde with a massive digital transformation to better their business.

Adyax helped this media company become a regional media leader with two websites and six magazines that reach a wider audience with much less effort - true digital transformation.

  • YEAR 2014 / 2015
  • INDUSTRY Mass Media
  • COMPANY Le Monde